Arthur C Clarke Award 2013 Shortlist Announced

And the six shortlisted books vying for the Arthur C Clarke Award and the title of best science fiction novel of the year are…

(opens in new tab)

The Arthur C Clarke Award judging panel has sifted through a record-breaking 82 submissions from 32 different publishing houses, and now only six novels remain to fight it out for 2013’s award.

The shortlisted books are:

(opens in new tab)

Nod (opens in new tab) by Adrian Barnes (Bluemoose)

(opens in new tab)

Dark Eden (opens in new tab) by Chris Beckett (Corvus)

(opens in new tab)

Angelmaker (opens in new tab) by Nick Harkaway (William Heinemann)

(opens in new tab)

The Dog Stars (opens in new tab) by Peter Heller (Headline)

(opens in new tab)

Intrusion (opens in new tab) by Ken MacLeod (Orbit)

(opens in new tab)

2312 (opens in new tab) by Kim Stanley Robinson (Orbit)

“This is a fascinating and complex shortlist that demands repeated attention and thoughtful interpretation,” said Award director Tom Hunter. “Shortlisting six books from a potential list of 82 eligible submissions is no easy task by any critical standard. I wholeheartedly commend our judges for all of their hard work, and similarly for presenting a shortlist that I hope people will find as much engaging and optimistic as it is subversive and challenging.”

“I’ve been thinking continuously on this list ever since it was first presented to me by Andrew Butler, our Chair of Judges, and there are some key points to note:

“Of our six shortlisted authors, two have been nominated more than once before, Ken MacLeod and Kim Stanley Robinson, and so this could well be one of their years. Two are critically acclaimed first novels, those by Adrian Barnes and Peter Heller, and two have good form with other award wins. Chris Beckett gained wide acclaim for being the first genre writer to win the Edge Hill prize in 2009. Moreover Nick Harkaway has just just won The Kitschies Red Tentacle award for best novel – an award that has demonstrated an almost eerie track record in recent years for predicting the winner of the Arthur C. Clarke Award.”

Who’ll follow in the footsteps of last year’s winner Jane Rogers ? We’ll find out when the winner is presented with the prize and a cheque for £2013 on Wednesday 1 May, at a ceremony hosted by the Royal Society in London as part of the SCI-FI-LONDON film festival.

What do you think of the list? Post your comments below.

About Fox

Check Also

Skull and Bones now has an ESRB rating

Ubisoft’s seafaring adventure, Skull and Bones, has been rated “Mature” by the ESRB. It’ll be …

Leave a Reply